Kandy was first established by the King Wickramabahu (1357-1374 CE) near the Watapuluwa area, north of the present city, and it was named Senkadagalapura at the time. In 1592 Kandy became the capital city of the last remaining independent kingdom in Sri Lanka after the coastal regions had been ruled by the Portuguese. takeover by the Portuguese and the Dutch (16th, 17th and 18th century) and also by the British (most notably in 1803) were attacked. The last ruling family of Kandy was the ‘Nayaks’ of Kandy while the Kingdom saved its independence until it finally fell to the British in 1815. The British removed the king, Sri Wikrama Rajasingha.you can visit temple of the tooth relic, Kandy lake, Kandy museum and the Royal botanical garden in here